Lady Ophelia

I think life is pretty black and white.  Being Christian, I think that’s pretty straight forward, and really being Christian is the most important thing. I’m working on my Master of Theological Studies at Baylor’s Truett  Theological Seminary. My dissertation is on Preterism. The completion of Prophecy and Law. The Parousia. The Second Coming.  It’s all so very exciting.  My favourite days are those I spend pouring over books. I love books.  Don’t get me wrong, I have a computer.  I’m completely addicted to it, but there’s nothing like the smell of an old book.  The sound of the pages when turned.  Maybe I should’ve been a librarian. Although if that were the case, then I suppose that’s where I would be.  Fate. Destiny. Predestination.  Call if what you like, but as Solomon wrote, “many are the plans of a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” I know, with no doubt, this is where I’m meant to be.  This is where the Lord wants me.

2 responses to “Lady Ophelia

  • Larry

    I find this really interesting, but do you honestly think being Christian makes things ‘black and white’?

    Unless you take every word of the Bible literally or every word metaphorically, you have to make some decisions. And the ambiguity of the Bible is ultimately such that there are surely many grey moral areas.

    Nice post though! =)

  • sarah elizabeth

    No, I don’t believe that everything in the Bible is literal nor that it is all metaphorical. I firmly believe that you have to consider the historical context in which it was written, the cultural context, the history of the manuscript itself and the type of language that was used in that culture at that time. Gregory Boyd in his book, Letters from a Skeptic, points out “Authors in biblical times were not as infatuated with “literal facts” as modern authors tend to be. They frequently wove together history and allegory or history and myth to make a point.” One of which, I believe are the intricacies in which the Lord guides our paths.
    Granted, I have not studied predestination to the extent I have Preterism, and a large amount of it I take on faith. But if Solomon’s words in Proverbs are not enough to suggest a Biblical basis for it, there is Paul who writes in Acts “The Gentiles and the People of Israel, were gathered together to do whatever Your hand and Your purpose determined before to be done.” In the early church, Clement of Alexandria wrote in the Stromata, “He, then who faultlessly acts the drama of life that God has give him to play.” And one of my personal favourites, from the Octavius of Marcus Minucius Felix, “For what else is fate, than what God has spoken of each one of us? Since He can foresee our constitution, He determines also the fates for us.” (Lady Ophelia)

Leave a Reply

